President's Message

My Dearest Colleagues of Class of ’72,

It is indeed a privilege to have this opportunity of addressing my dearest friends of Class of ’72, not only in my capacity as its President but also as a school mate who mingled with all of you since my childhood as a tiny tot.

We have come a long way since 1987 as Class of ’72, where the results of all the efforts made by our successors who gave life to Class of ’72 and those who brought it up throughout the years to what it is now, is clearly seen and appreciated not only among our batch mates but by the entire fraternity of Royalists, past and present.

We are proud and happy to say that, being possibly the batch which consists of the largest membership boasting over 800, have contributed immensely towards the betterment of our Alma Mater in many ways and we pledge that it will be continued during my tenure as the President too, to the best of our abilities.

We will also make every effort to get involved in Community Development Projects and Social Welfare Activities with the support of the International Community where our own batch mates play a leading role in many parts of the world.

The incredible bond and unity we all have as Class of ’72, irrespective of Race, Religion, Cast or Creed, which is something unique, will undoubtedly beckon us to reach to much greater heights beyond all our expectations.

Thank you ever so much dearest friends, let’s rally round Class of ’72 and march forward.
It is your strength that matters… It is your support that matters…. I need you all to make our dreams come true..!!!!

Thank you

Shanker Somasunderam - President Royal Class of 72 (2008/2009)

Past Presidents and Secretaries
1987/88 Janaka Edirisinghe
Rajiv Walpita
1988/89 Shean Perera
Ananda Thenabadu
1989/92 Rajiv Walpita
Riad Suby
1992/95 Ananda Thenabadu
Sumith Guruge
1995/96 Riad Suby
Rizan Nazeer
1996/97 Niraj De Mel
Jehan Amaratunga
1997/98 Rizan Nazeer
Mayura Fernando
1998/99 Jehan Amaratunga
Dinal Phillips
1999/00 Asanga Weerasinghe
Rajendra Theagarajah
2000/01 Mayura Fernando
Upul Kulathunga
2001/02 Dinal Phillips
Vikum Siriwardena
2002/03 Gamini Pitipana
Mahesh Chandrasekera
2003/04 Dhammika Siriwardena
Mahesh Chandrasekera
2004/05 Vikum Siriwardena
Sisira Weerabahu
2005/06 Kamil Weerasekera
Shanker Somasunderam
OB Profile

Over the years with our regular fellowship activities, many old bonds have been renewed. Our group has contributed to our Alma mater, over the years initially with the installation of a chlorinator for the Swimming pool, being the sole sponsor of the Squash Courts at the Royal College Sports Complex. Principal sponsor, formulator and implementer of the information technology project in having a Lab within the Royal College Information, Communication and Technology center.

Regular seminars were conducted on Leadership Development, Vocational Training & carrier guidance for year 10 students. Two Scholarships were granted on continuous basis for two hostellers.
This year we hosted the Collge 1 st XI Cricket Team for dinner at Water's Edge, with the support of our Colleague Sumal Perera. The team was fortunate to have the opportunity to listen to our Colleagues Prof. Charitha Pattiaratchi & Eran Wickramaratne.
I take this opportunity in thanking our Past President Mayura Fernando who took up the responsibility this year to get the wheels rolling to set up our Website. I am sure knowing Mayura he would have silently but professionally completed the task with many surprises for all of us.
I would continue to assist Class of '72 in all future activities. I wish all future Presidents and their Committees success in the years to come.